Wednesday, 28 March 2018

Wrong Result Called at Kempton

Kempton photo was wrong
Punters out of pocket as Kempton result is amended in photo-finish farce.

Sometime you win and lose. Others, you lose and win. How can it be possible? Well it can when a photo-finish is called as the result only to be amended afterwards. 

Another down for British racing and punters left feeling they can do little right. 

Even worse when it was an odds-on winner. Friday, 8:45 Kempton. Oregon Gift was incorrectly called the loser in the 1m 4f handicap. However, the result was amended but the original result stands so the odds-on backers lost out while 8/1 shot, Bird For Life, prove a bird in the hand is worth two in the bush for those punters who got lucky. 

The BHA said: '' Clearly the whole team is disappointed to have to correct any race result after the day. It is important that these results are called accurately.
"While it is appropriate that our processes allow us to put this right financially by the owner of the winning horse, we are aware that the betting public are significantly affected by issues such as this owing to the fact that the rules of betting mean that the result called on the day stands for betting purposes. We apologise to everyone affected."