Wednesday 28 February 2018

Top Hennessy Gold Cup winners

The Hennessy Gold Cup was first run in 1957 with Mandarin as its first winner. It is run at Newbury over a distance of about 3 miles and 2½ furlongs. During its initial years, it used to be run at Cheltenham and after three years it was transferred to Newbury.

In the UK, the hugely popular Cheltenham Festival is now nearing rapidly with mounting anticipation from all the fans and punters. For four days, the Prestbury Park will witness the best of horse racing from all the best horses in the UK and Ireland.

And just like the top bookmakers will bring the best betting offers for the Cheltenham Festival, freebets will also give you the best Cheltenham betting tips and updates you will not find anywhere else. See what are the changes of Might Bite and Native River for the Gold Cup? How the horses of Nicky Henderson and Willie Mullins are faring? You will get all the tips regarding the RSA Chase, the Supreme Novices' Hurdle and the Stayers Hurdle etc. Also you can enjoy all the odds of all the races during the four days of Champion Day, Ladies Day, St. Patrick's Day and Gold Cup Day.

Find all the leading bookmakers at one place for all your punting. Avail from the No Runner No Bet offer of Bet365, Ladbrokes and Paddy Power. Bet365 is the most trusted and forward thinking bookmaker you will find. While Ladbrokes is most popular for its Bet £5 Get up to £50. You might also like to know that Paddy Power is offering the Non Runner No Bet on all 28 races of the Cheltenham Festival. Betfair Free Bets are very simple to claim and they can get up to £100 while William Hill gives £30 in free bets.

1- Mandarin

Mandarin was the first horse to win the 1957 Hennessy Gold Cup when it was staged at Cheltenham. Fulke Walwyn was the trainer of Mandarin.

Besides his first victory, he won four years later as well in 1961 giving his trainer the third victory in just five runnings. Fulke Walwyn would later collect four more titles to become the leading handler in the history of the Hennessy Gold Cup.

2- Arkle

Arkle was called a freak of nature by the famous racing commentator Peter O'Sullevan. In racing, larger weight is considered as a huge impediment for racehorses but Arkle managed to get so many victories despite this disadvantage.

He won three Gold Cups, an Irish National, a King George besides winning several other titles as well. And he got two consecutive victories at the Hennessy Gold Cup to become the only horse to do so in the race's history. He has 212 Timeform rating which is the highest number ever given to a racehorse.

3- Mill House

Mill House was one of the best racehorses of all time in the UK. Although his career became overshadowed by the legendary Arkle, still he was quite a brilliant horse himself.

The season of 1963 was the best season of his career when he won the Hennessy Gold Cup, the King George VI Chase and the Cheltenham Gold Cup as well.

His clash with Arkle in the 1964 Gold Cup was one of the most famous races of all time. Mill House lost the race but only by five lengths. He won the Gainsborough Chase for three times and the Whitbread Gold Cup one time. Out of the 34 starts, Mill House managed to win 16 times with 6 seconds and 2 thirds.

4- Denman

Deman was affectionately called as The Tank. His rivalry with Kauto Star in the Gold Cup was hugely famous. However, it was in the Hennessy Gold Cup that he got victories in both 2007 and 2009 to earn himself a great name. Out of his first 15 starts, he managed to win 14 times.

Denman beat the stable-mate Kauto Star in the all important Cheltenham Gold Cup of 2008. It is worth remembering that Kauto Star is the famous racehorse who won the Cheltenham Gold Cup of 2007 and 2009.

5- Bobs Worth

The Nicky Henderson trained Bobs Worth has won the Albert Bartlett Novices' Hurdle (2011), the RSA Chase (2012) and the Cheltenham Gold Cup (2013). These wins put him in the ranks of Flyingbolt for registering 3 different victories at consecutive Cheltenham Festivals.

The Hennessy Gold Cup also came his way in 2012 at Newbury.